Green tomatoes

August 17, 2009 at 9:24 am 1 comment

green toms

My efforts to save the tomatoes were too little, too late. The blight had spread to the rest of the crop very quickly despite my spraying them, so the whole lot has been pulled out. So depressing! I do at least have a bag full of green tomatoes (some of which are ripening okay in the sun) but the rest will go into making green tomato chutney. Never made it or tasted it before, but I’ll give it a go.

There are a few quite varied recipes on the internet, I quite like the sound of this one on My Tiny Plot. However, as you can see, I have over 4lb of toms, which is the amount needed in this Keith Floyd recipe, so maybe I’ll do a cross between the two.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Tomato blight Thorn Apple

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Steph  |  August 22, 2009 at 7:55 am

    Thanks for the jar of chutney its fantastic, sharp and sweet and perfect with cheese nibbles.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to my allotment!

This Blessed Plot is a diary of the events, be it mishaps, successes or failures, of organically growing fruit and vegetables on an allotment in Ely, Cambridgeshire, UK. There are posts about what I grow, what I cook, how I combat pests and diseases, and how I store and preserve my harvests, along with as many photos as possible. I hope you find some help or inspiration in these pages.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow This blessed plot on WordPress.com

Follow me on Instagram - elysianzoe

It'll soon be time for squashes. #allotment #autumn #butternut #squash #growyourown Next years broad beans are up already. I started them early this year to give them a fighting chance against the slugs. They were very slow to germinate last November, and then they got demolished pretty quickly. I've covered some with plastic bottle cloches for extra protection. You need perseverance and determination to be a veg grower! It's been such a good year for fruit. The blackberries and autumn raspberries are in full swing right now. I love autumn. My bell peppers are finally turning red. This one is roasting in the oven right now. #homegrown #bellpepper #growyourown

I'm a Member of UK Veg Gardeners!

Archives

Top Posts & Pages

Feeds

Follow me on Pinterest


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

